Lashing out at wife? Check your glucose level

Do you often lash out at your spouse? Go get your blood sugar checked as lower glucose levels may make couple go ‘hangry’ and even more likely to lash out aggressively.

“The study shows how one simple, often overlooked factor – hunger caused by low levels of blood glucose – may play a role in marital arguments, confrontations and possibly even some domestic violence,” said Brad Bushman, a professor of communication and psychology at the Ohio State University.

People can relate to this idea that when they get hungry, they get cranky. It even has a slang term: “hangry” (hungry + angry), Bushman explained.The research involved 107 married couples. The study started with the couples completing a relationship satisfaction measure, which asked each spouse how much they agreed with statements like “I feel satisfied with our relationship”.

In a 21-day study, researchers found that levels of blood glucose in married people, measured each night, predicted how angry they would be with their spouse that evening.At the end of the 21 days, people who had generally lower levels of glucose were willing to blast their spouses with unpleasant noises at a higher volume and for a longer time than those who had higher glucose levels.

“We found that being ‘hangry’ can affect our behaviour in a bad way, even in our most intimate relationships,” he added.Even those who reported they had good relationships with their spouses were more likely to express anger if their blood glucose levels were lower.

Listen to Bushman: Before you have a difficult conversation with your spouse, make sure you are not hungry.Blood glucose levels can be brought up most quickly by eating carbohydrates or sugary foods.The study has appeared online in the journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

14 thoughts on “Lashing out at wife? Check your glucose level

  1. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough
    time locating it but, I’d like to send you an email.
    I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.

    Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  2. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much
    more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Superb work!

  3. Hey there I am so happy I found your webpage, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Google for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.

  4. whoah this weblog is fantastic i like reading your posts.
    Stay up the great work! You realize, lots of individuals are searching around for this info, you could
    help them greatly.

  5. Appreciation to my father who shared with me on the topic of this website,this blog is in fact amazing.

  6. It’s truly very complicated in this full of activity life to listen news on TV, so I only use world wide web for that purpose, and get the most up-to-date information.

  7. Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook
    group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your
    content. Please let me know. Thanks

  8. This post gives clear idea in favor of the new users of blogging, that
    actually how to do running a blog.

  9. What’s up everybody, here every one is sharing such experience,
    so it’s good to read this blog, and I used to pay a visit this web
    site all the time.

  10. I don’t even understand how I finished up right here,
    however I assumed this put up was once good. I don’t recognize who you’re however certainly you are going to a well-known blogger
    in the event you are not already. Cheers!

  11. Hi there, just wanted to tell you, I liked this article.
    It was practical. Keep on posting!

  12. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is magnificent, as well as the content!

  13. What’s up friends, its wonderful paragraph on the topic of
    teachingand completely explained, keep it up all the time.

  14. Hurrah! After all I got a website from where I know how to truly get valuable information concerning my study and knowledge.

Leave a Reply

