Legalise corporate lobbying, advocacy in India: Assocham

Corporate lobbying and advocacy practices should be legalised in India as long as business players engage with policymakers in a transparent manner based on fair economic logic, Assocham today said.
The industry chamber said business groups should be entitled to voice their concerns related to a particular policy matter with the government if they feel their interests may be jeopardised.
“Like in the US, we should make lobbying legal with all the rules of transparency in place. In a competitive market, business players with conflicting interests are bound to fight for policy space,” Assocham Secretary General D S Rawat said.

// // “As long as advocacy arguments for or against a premise are being advanced in a fair and transparent manner and no ulterior motives are attached. It is high time, lobbying is not taken as a bad word and professional lobbying firms are allowed,” he added.

The government had ordered a probe in December 2012 into lobbying activities undertaken by US-based Walmart to enter the Indian retail market.However, the government-appointed one-man inquiry panel in its report, which was tabled in the Lok Sabha in February, could not “conclude in the absence of any material evidence available on record up till now, that Walmart indulged in any lobbying/bribery to Indian officials”.

Rawat contended that making lobbying and advocacy legal would lead to a clean way of approaching the policymakers and lawmakers if they have any legitimate and genuine interests.

“When the rules of the game are being framed in a particular sector of the economy, those who feel their interests can be in jeopardy should have a right to voice their concern. But it should all be done in an open way and not in a surreptitious manner,” he said.

187 thoughts on “Legalise corporate lobbying, advocacy in India: Assocham

  1. Hello to every one, it’s in fact a pleasant for
    me to visit this site, it includes useful Information.

  2. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create
    this website yourself or did youu hire someone to
    do it for you? Plz answer back ass I’m looking to design my ownn blog and would like to know where u got this from.
    many thanks

  3. Quality articles or reviews is the important to invite the
    people to pay a visit the website, that’s what this web site is providing.

  4. The best-selling design can be a lounger that is able to lay completely firm.

    Now here’s a little note about soaring sports usually.
    To me it was like “killing three birds with one stone”.

  5. I have learn some excellent stuff here. Definitely worth
    bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much attempt you place to mak this type
    of wonderful informative site.

  6. Your means of telling the whole thing in this paragraph is truly pleasant, all be capable of simply understand it,
    Thanks a lot.

  7. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this
    I have discovered It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out
    loads. I’m hoping to contribute & aid different users like its aided
    me. Good job.

  8. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a
    coworker who had been conducting a little research on this.
    And he actually bought me dinner because I stumbled upon it
    for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending the time to talk about this issue here on your web page.

  9. Remarkable issues here. I’m very happy to
    peer your post. Thank you a lot and I am looking ahead
    to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  10. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it,
    you could be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come
    back someday. I want to encourage you to definitely
    continue your great job, have a nice day!

  11. It’s very straightforward to find oout any matter on net as compared
    to textbooks, as I found this podt at this site.

  12. What’s up to all, how is all, I think every one is
    getting more from this site, and your views
    are nice designed for new users.

  13. I all the time used to study piece of writing in news papers but now as I am
    a user of internet thus from now I am using net for articles or reviews, thanks to web.

  14. Hello to every one, the contents existing at this web site are in fact amazing
    for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work
    fellows.

  15. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Thanks

  16. Hey there! I just wish to give you a big thumbs up for your
    excellent info you’ve got here on this post.
    I am coming back to your website for more soon.

  17. Howdy! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would
    be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  18. Woah! I’m really lοving thе template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. А lot of tіmes it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” ƅetween superb usability and
    visual appeal. I must say that you’ve done a great job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads extremеly fast for me on Firefox.

    Superb Blog!

  19. Superb post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this
    subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate
    a little bit more. Many thanks!

  20. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Many thanks

  21. I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or
    weblog posts in this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website.

    Reading this info So i’m glad to convey that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny
    feeling I came upon just what I needed. I such a
    lot unquestionably will make sure to don?t overlook this web site and give it a look regularly.

  22. It’s awesome to pay a quick visit this website and reading the views of all
    colleagues about this post, while I am also zealous of getting knowledge.

  23. When someone writes an paragraph he/she keeps the thought of a user in his/her brain that how a user can know it.
    Thus that’s why this piece of writing is perfect. Thanks!

  24. Thanks for another informative web site. The place else could I am
    getting that type of information written in such an ideal
    means? I have a venture that I am simply now working on, and I
    have been on the glance out for such info.

  25. Hi my friend! I desire to say that this post is awesome, nicely written as well as
    include almost all important information. I’d like to see even more posts like this.

  26. What’s up friends, how is all, and what you desire to say about this piece of writing, in my view its really awesome designed for me.

  27. I’m definitely bookmarking this website and sharing it with my friends.

    You will be getting plenty of visitors to your site from me!

  28. Hi there my friend! I desire to say that this post is awesome, nicely written and include almost
    all significant info. I’d like to see even more posts just like this.

  29. I came across your website a week ago as well as began to
    follow your posts consistently. I haven’t
    commented on any kind of website at this time but I was considering to start soon. It’s
    truly exciting to actually contribute to an article even when it’s only
    a blog. I really liked going through a number of your articles.
    Great articles of course. I will keep visiting your blog regularly.
    I learned a lot from you. Thanks!

  30. I’d constantly want to be modified on new content on this website, saved as
    a favorite!

  31. I pay a quick visit everyday some blogs and websites to read posts, but this blog offers feature based posts.

Leave a Reply

