More departments join Sakala

The Sakala Mission is on a roll – 31 services of six more departments can now be availed online, but more needs to be done. Thanks to this initiative under the department of personnel and general administration (administrative reforms), these services rolled out under the tagline – ‘Be online, not in line’ — underscoring the fact that netizens can now use these services at the click of a mouse rather than spend time and energy shuttling between departments.

The six departments brought on board include transport, urban development, education, labour, commercial taxes and commerce & industry. Currently, citizens can avail 265 services of 18 departments and this number will go up to 375 services of 21 departments, said Shalini Rajneesh, Secretary to the department and Director, Sakala Mission. The additional 110 services will come on board from August 16. 

These services had a soft launch a fortnight ago, Shalini told reporters here, adding that the department through the respective deputy commissioners will enter into MoUs with entrepreneurs who can help people avail benefits of these online services. “A standard MoU has been uploaded on the Sakala portal “,” she said. Network partners will be trained to make these online services popular, she added. 

Network partners will receive training in scanning and uploading documents and any cyber cafe in the neighbourhood with minimal investment or with their existing infrastructure can become one, she said. The documents are in English and in Kannada making it easier for those using this service, Shalini said, adding that more services will be added soon. What makes this exciting, Shalini said, is the fact that one can make payment for online services through internet banking.

Source: TOI, Mangalore.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s